The End Times of Bram & Ben 1_C

The End Times of Bram & Ben #1 Review

The End Times of Bram & Ben 1_C
New Profile Photo

Is this quirky but biblically themed buddy romp really worth your time? Read on to find out.

The official description from Image:

What would you do if you were caught in the Biblical End Times? When Heaven raptures total bastard Bram Carlson in a “clerical error” – he’s sent back and immediately uses Armageddon to his benefit! Can his anxious roommate Ben save Bram from himself – AND the gathering forces of Armageddon?

Extra-long debut issue! This apocalyptic buddy-comedy from writers JAMES ASMUS (THIEF OF THIEVES, Gambit) and JIM FESTANTE is recommended for fans of CHEW and BATTLE POPE.

From start to finish the comic book you hold is an endlessly entertaining read that’s sure to appeal to a very select audience.  This is more or less a saga about two guys facing the literal apocalypse together, but they aren’t trying to save the planet. Instead what we get is a refreshing take that’s more about embracing remaining moments as the world marches toward assured destruction.

That may have sounded like the narrative has a larger picture is store but trust me the script by James Asmus and Jim Festante is dripping with comedic glee even in these intentionally dire times.  Zingers and one liners are plentiful as the saga of Bram and Ben unfolds with comedy acting as its bread and butter.  Much to the readers chagrin, there were more than a few moments where an overabundance of clunky dialogue detracted from some of the jokes.  But overall this was still a very solid first outing delivered competently by this dynamic and capable duo.

Rem Broo handles the art and what’s on display perfectly suits the tale at play here.  From the depictions of Heaven to the city streets there’s plenty of visual flare to match the tempo created by the authors.  To be frank there were times where intentional deformities regarding the characters turned out to be a bit distracting but trust me these were few and far between.

The End Times of Bram & Ben #1 is a good beginning to what looks to be a very entertaining mini-series.  Recommended.

3.5/5

S#!T Talking Central