Prepare for War! The Attack on Titan Dub trailer has been unleashed!

The biggest anime hit in recent memory has finally gotten a trailer of its english dub courtesy of Funimation and let’s just say it kicks more than a little ass.

For those not in the know, Attack on Titan (or Shingeki no Kyojin as it’s known in Japan) is an anime that premiered this past fall anime season. Based off the manga of the same name by Hajime Isayama, AoT tells the story of Eren Jaeger and his friends in the military who try to stave off the extinction of humanity due to giant humanoid creatures called “Titans” (You can read out reviews of the show HERE). The show became one the biggest hits in recent memory due to its characters, story, and amazing visuals.

Anime distributor obtained the license last year and simulcasted the series on their site during its TV run but we alwasy knew that a dub was in the works. Over the past week or so Funimation has been slowly releasing the cast information on their website, with exclusive dub clips for subscribers (although they have since released the clips on youtube).

Funimation kept fans on the edge of their seats by slowly releasing cast info, but they saved the best for Anime Boston today when they finally announced the VA for Eren (the shows main character): Bryce Papenbrook! Papenbrook has been in the industry for awhile, mostly working out of Los Angeles. He has led shows before as Rin Okumura in “Blue Exorcist” (now on Toonami) and Kirito in “Sword Art Online”.  With Eren now cast the entire cast list is as follows:

  • Mikasa – Trina Nishimura
  • Armin – Josh Grelle
  • Levi – Matthew Mercer
  • Jean – Mike McFarland
  • Sasha – Ashly Burch
  • Conny – Clifford Chapin
  • Reiner – Robert McCollum
  • Annie – Lauren Landa
  • Hange – Jessica Calvello
  • Christa – Bryn Apprill
  • Ymir – Elizabeth Maxwell
  • Bertholdt – David Matranga
  • Erwin – J. Michael Tatum
  • Marco – Austin Tindle
  • Samuel – Dave Trosko
  • Thomas – Duncan Brannan
  • Tom – Tyler Walker
  • Wald – Barry Yandell
  • Woerman – Christopher R. Sabat
  • Anka – Jamie Marchi
  • Hanna – Tia Ballard
  • Gustav – Keith Kubal
  • Keith – Patrick Seitz
  • Moses – Jeff Johnson
  • Carla – Jessica Cavanagh
  • Grisha – Chris Hury
  • Hannes – David Wald
  • Petra – Caitlin Glass
  • Daz – Brad Venable
  • Franz – James Chandler
  • Rico – Morgan Garrett
  • Pyxis – R Bruce Elliott
  • Nack – Will Short
  • Hugo – Tyson Rinehart
  • Ian – Scott Freeman
  • Milieus – Joel McDonald
  • Mina – Alexis Tipton
  • Mitabi – Kyle Hebert
  • Mobb – Matthew Ham

Here is the trailer, which Funi released after Papenbrook’s announcement:

Attack on Titan Part 1 (Collecting episodes 1-13) will be available on DVD/Blu-Ray Combo pack in both a Standard and a Limited edition set. There is also a collector’s edition that is only available through Funimation’s website containing an art book, 3d lenticular art card, 24 page “Notes from beyond the Wall Part 1” Booklet, 4 military emblem pins based off the shows military, a replica of Eren’s key necklace, a sword necklace based of the the military’s titan flesh paring blades, and 104 minutes of on-disc extras.

Collector's Edition

Collector’s Edition

The Collector’s edition (which is what I will be throwing my meager dollars at) will run you about $128.98 retail while the Limited edition (which contains only the on disc extras, 3d card, and booklet) will run about $89.98 retail. The standard edition is $49.98 retail but you could easily buy them cheaper from rightstuf or amazon.

Attack on Titan Part 1 will be available June 3rd.